About ECDL

The European Computer Driving Licence (ECDL) and its counterpart the International Computer Driving Licence (ICDL) are the standards set for end-users in computer skills.  Candidates which successfully pass through tests are offered certification that is recognized by governmental entities, computer societies, international organisations and commercial corporations worldwide.  With over 7 million candidates from around 148 countries, ECDL is the largest computer skills certification programme in the world.  ICT skills offer students and teachers enhanced educational experience for life, work and promote studies.  Teachers can use ICT skills in the preparation of resources, more efficiently and saving time in the process.

What are the ECDL modules?

The European Computer Driving Licence tests candidates in practical skills and competencies.  ECDL consists of seven individual modules.  ECDL module 1 is a theoretically based test on computing awareness at a general level and modules 2 to 7 are all practical tests.

  • Module 1 – Concepts of ICT
  • Module 2 – Using the Computer and Managing files
  • Module 3 – Word Processing
  • Module 4 – Spreadsheets
  • Module 5 – Using Databases
  • Module 6 – Presentations
  • Module 7 – Web Browsing and Communication

Each test has a maximum duration of 45 minutes.  An ECDL Core Certificate is awarded to those candidates who pass all seven tests within three years of the date of the first successful test.

ECDL Advanced follows with:

  • AM3 – Advanced Word Processing
  • AM4 – Advanced Spreadsheets
  • AM5 – Advanced Databases and
  • AM6 – Advanced Presentations

A certificate is issued by ECDL Malta with every successful module. Candidates who successfully pass all the four mentioned ECDL Advanced tests are given an Expert Certificate as issued by ECDL Malta.


The eLearning Centre also provides candidates with the opportunity to sit for ECDL CAD exam.  ECDL CAD registration numbers can also be purchased at the centre.  Current venue of this exam is at our satellite test centre at Giovanni Curmi Higher Secondary School in Naxxar.


As from 1st October 2013, ECDL foundation will be launching the New ECDL format.  This will include:

Base Modules

  • Computer Essentials
  • Online Essentials
  • Word Processing
  • Spreadsheets

Standard Modules

  • Presentation
  • Using Databases
  • IT Security
  • Image Editing

Full ECDL standard certification is obtained when all four base modules and three standard modules are successfully completed.

Candidates who have registered with ECDL Malta prior to October 2013 will continue with the previous version of ECDL.  The three year window to complete all modules, has only been removed for the new ECDL version.

Who needs ECDL?

ECDL is a programme for all those who need to demonstrate their computer skills and competencies to an international standard.  Candidates will also show their capability to understand the basic concepts of Information Technology.  Ideally, persons attending for the ECDL programme should have some basic know-how of computer usage and have used some common application before.

Advantages of ECDL

Computer literacy is of utmost importance in many aspects of modern lifestyle.  ECDL is essential for those who wish to know how to use personal computers at home and for their job.

ECDL is beneficial for Candidates:

  • Gain an increase in ICT skills and knowledge.
  • Become more confident in the use of personal computers.
  • Obtain a qualification that is internationally recognized.
  • Can move to an ICT education at a higher level.

ECDL is beneficial for Employers:

  • An increase in productivity and efficiency is achieved.
  • The quality output from employees is much better.
  • PC-related problems are reduced.
  • An organisation can register a significant cost reduction with a solid investment in ICT.
  • The standards established by ECDL conform to the requirements of both employees and employers.

Registering to start ECDL

When registering for ECDL Core certification, Candidates need to purchase a ECDL Registration Number (ERN) from the eLearning Centre.  Successfully completed modules are recorded directly into the Enlight database.  Candidates may also apply for the ECDL Advanced modules and ECDL CAD exam at the eLearning Centre.  The eLearning Centre is an accredited ECDL Test Centre approved and monitored by ECDL Malta.


The Department for Curriculum Management and eLearning organises ECDL courses aimed for all teaching grades in state, church and private schools in Malta.  ECDL Core and Advanced courses are normally offered twice a year.  Sessions are available during the winter and summer period.